SOS Copper Coast

Suicide Prevention Network

Grant for new SOS Copper Coast project

SOS Copper Coast is one of three Yorke Peninsula projects that have been announced as recipients of South Australian Suicide Prevention Community Grants from the State Government, for projects which raise awareness about suicide prevention.

The other two recipients are the Station Community Mental Health and Wellbeing Centre at Wallaroo, and Point Pearce Aboriginal Community Centre.

SOS Copper Coast will spend the money they have received on one of their major initiatives for 2019 – to implement a self-harm minimisation program for young females.

It is intended the program will initiate important conversations in schools and provide useful resources whilst providing a safe space for local youth.